### Summary of the GEORGIA BOARD OF HEALTH CARE WORKFORCE MEETING Virtual 04/24/2025 8:03 a.m. to 10:40 a.m.

## **Board Members Present**

Chairman – James Barber, MD Vice Chairman – William Kemp Secretary/Treasurer – Lily Henson, MD Terri McFadden, MD Garrett Bennett, MD Steven Gautney, MSHA Michael Groover, DMD William Fricks, MD Amy Reeves, PA-C Kitty Carter-Walker, MD Bhuvnendram Indrakrishnan, MD Joseph Walker, MD Cecil Bennett, MD Carolyn Clevenger, DNP

## **Board Members Absent**

James Smith, MD

## **Staff Present**

Chet Bhasin Cherri Tucker Anita Dunbar Leanna Greenwood Augustine Agbontaen Kimberly Rogers Alexandria Dave-Moses Freeman Montaque Briana Harris Lauren Brenneman LePrissa Moore

# **Consultant to the Board**

Al Dever, MD, Ph.D., Faculty WellStar Kennestone Family Medicine

# Attorney General's Representative

Jocelyn Curry, JD

# **Program Guests Present**

Shelli Ann McKenzie-Otter.ai Laurie Ott - Executive Director, Georgia Higher Education Healthcare Initiative Betsy Bates - Legislative consultant to Morehouse School of Medicine & Georgia Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics Marilane Bond - EdD, MEd, MBA. Associate Dean for Medical Education, UME, GME, and Health Professions Darrell Saabs - Phoebe Putney Health System, Government and Legislative Relations Kerri Conley - Chief Health Policy Officer, Georgia Hospital Association Emily Elder - Program Analyst with Senate Budget & Evaluation Office Angela Richard-Eaglin - DNP, MSN, FNP-BC, CNE, FAANP Jessica Rivenbark - Mark Colquitt Regional Medical Center Morgan Hall - House Budget Research Office Martha Elks - M.D., Ph.D., FAPC, FACE, Senior Associate Dean of Educational Affairs, Morehouse School of Medicine Leanna Spiva, Ph.D. - Assistant Vice President Nursing Practice and Operations, Wellstar Health System Shelly Nuss, MD - Campus Dean, Designated Institutional Official, Campus Associate Dean for GME Tracy Suber, EdD – Vice President of Education for Phoebe Putney Health System Erica Sutton, MD, FACS - Vice President of Academic Affairs, Morehouse School of Medicine, Wellstar Health System Chadburn Ray, MD – Obstetrician, Gynecologist at Wellstar MCG Health, Associate Dean, Medical College of Georgia. Chelsea Hagopian, DNP, APRN, AGACNP-BC - Georgia Nursing Workforce Center, Assistant Professor, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Emory Alice House - Associate Dean of Admissions and Student Affairs, Mercer University Melanie Townsend – Mercer School of Medicine Claribel Aguilar Whyte, M.Ed Ed Grimsley, MD – Mercer School of Medicine Donna Lamb, DHSc, MBA, BSN - President and Chief Executive Officer of the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) Rebecca Ryles - RCR Capital Consultants

On Motion, April 24, 2025, Agenda adopted by general consent

On Motion, January 30, 2025, the Board meeting minutes were approved as written by general consent.

On **Motion**, the Loan Repayment Population Change were adopted by general consent. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion**, to publish the Optometry Dashboard were approved by general consent. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion**, to publish the Physician Data Update, were approved by general consent. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion**, to publish the Georgia Physician Workforce Report. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On Motion, to publish the Match Report. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On Motion, to publish the Match Report. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion** to the Loan Repayment Program Winners with Location Change. APRNs recipient winners Kelli B. Sharpton and Zhane Asare-KoKou have been unanimously approved.

On **Motion** to the Loan Repayment Program Winners with Location Change. APRNs recipient winner Catherine Dennis has been unanimously denied.

On **Motion, the Chairman of the Board** offered a motion to adjourn. The Board voted unanimously to adjourn.