# Summary of the GEORGIA BOARD OF HEALTH CARE WORKFORCE MEETING Crisp Regional Hospital Cordele, GA

07/18/2024 8:05 a.m. - 10:10 a.m.

#### **Board Members Present**

Chairman – James Barber, MD
Vice Chairman – William Kemp
Secretary/Treasurer – Lily Henson, MD
Terri McFadden, MD
Garrett Bennett, MD
Steven Gautney, MSHA
Michael Groover, DMD
William Fricks, MD
Amy Reeves, PA-C
James Smith Jr, MD
Kitty Carter-Walker, MD
Bhuvnendram Indrakrishnan, MD
Joseph Walker, MD

### **Board Members Absent**

Carolyn Clevenger, DNP

### **Staff Present**

Chet Bhasin – Executive Director
Cherri Tucker – Board Consultant
Anita Dunbar – Office Coordinator
Leanna Greenwood – Data Team Supervisor
Augustine Agbontaen – Data Analyst
Kimberly Rogers – Finance & Data Administrative Assistant
Alexandria Moses – Communications Coordinator
Freeman Montaque – Finance & Budget Manager
Briana Harris – Data Analyst

#### Consultant to the Board

Al Dever, MD, Ph.D., Faculty WellStar Kennestone Family Medicine

## **Attorney General's Representative**

Jocelyn Curry, JD

## **Program Guests Present**

Marilane Bond – EdD, MEd, MBA– Associate Dean, Medical Education, Emory University Hugh Sosebee – VP, External Relations, Mercer School of Medicine

Chelsea Hagopian, DNP, APRN, AGACNP-BC -Assistant Professor, Clinical Track, Georgia

Morgan Hall - Budget and Policy Analyst, House Budget Research Office

Gillian Brazell, MHA, CMPE – GME Director at St. Francis-Emory Healthcare

Becca Hallum – Associate General Counsel, Georgia Hospital Association

Margie Miller -Vice President of Government Relations, Augusta University

Erica Sutton, MD. – Sr. Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education, Morehouse School of Medicine

Jacqueline Nikpour – PhD, RN – Assistant Professor of Nursing, Emory University School of Nursing, Georgia Nursing Workforce Center Advisory Board

Helen Sloat – Director of Georgia State Policy and Government Relations, Lobbyist, Nelson Mullins

Betsy Bates – Bates and Associates, Morehouse School of Medicine, Georgia Chapter of American Academy of Pediatrics

Shawn Little – Associate Vice Chancellor for Health Care Education, AVP Health Care, University System

Bryan Ginn – Chief Campus Officer, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) Kevin Smith – Associate Dean for Academic Programs Affiliations, Morehouse School of Medicine

Jon Hoin – Health Policy Specialist, Georgia Dental Association

On Motion, the July 18, 2024, Agenda adopted by general consent

On **Motion**, **April 18**, **2024**, the board meeting minutes were approved as written by general consent.

On **Motion**, the Updated Mission Statement was approved by general consent. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion** (**Dr. Bennett/Dr. Groover**) offered  $1^{st}$  and  $2^{nd}$  motion for the Annual Election Vote. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. Walker/Dr. Carter-Walker)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions for the Behavioral Health Loan Program Rule. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. Groover/Dr. Henson)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions for the Dentist Loan Rules. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. Fricks/Dr. Henson)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions for In-State Medical Definition Revision. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. McFadden/Dr. Henson)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions for the Neurology Capitation Rule. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. Bennett/Mr. Gautney)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions for the Medical Capitation (DO) Rule. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. McFadden/Dr. Henson)** offered 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> motions to adjourn. The Board voted unanimously to adjourn.