

**Georgia Board for Physician Workforce** 

## AWARD REPORT FOR SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS

Fiscal Year 2016

(This page intentionally left blank.)

**Table of Contents** 



Introduction	4
Scholarship recipients (Med. school)	5
Scholarship recipients (GME)	6
Scholarship recipients (Practice)	7
Contact Information	8

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce strives to identify and meet the physician workforce needs of Georgia communities through the support and development of medical education programs. Members of the General Assembly, the state's medical community and the general public:

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce members and staff are pleased to present the Award Report for Scholarship Programs for the Fiscal Year 2016.

In this report, you will find a listing of every recipient of the Board's scholarship program for FY 2016. In total, the Board awarded **\$200,000** to 10 recipients. However, there are 41 former scholarship recipients that are still under the program-25 former recipients are still training in graduate medical education programs and 16 former recipients are now practicing in a rural county to fulfill their contractual obligations.

The administrative costs to carry out these loan repayment programs is paid for with funds provided in the Board Administration program of the Georgia Department of Community Health section of the state budget, while the awards were funded through the Physicians for Rural Areas program of DCH.

Would you or someone you know want to know more about the Board and the important work we do to better the health care needs of rural Georgia? Then, please visit us online at <u>http://gbpw.georgia.gov</u>. The website is an invaluable resource for both health care professionals and interested consumers.

han Hugles

LaSharn Hughes, MBA Executive Director



Hughes and Gov. Nathan Deal

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce Scholarship is an annual award for Georgia students who have been accepted in an accredited four-year medical school in the U.S. leading to a Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy degree. This scholarship is designed to furnish \$20,000 in financial aid to deserving medical students who cannot afford the cost of medical school while also bringing needed medical attention to small rural communities in Georgia. Upon graduation from medical school and a residency program, recipients must be licensed to practice in Georgia and must contract to practice medicine in a community of 35,000 or less for one year after completing graduate medical education for each year of scholarship funding received. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years for a maximum of \$80,000. The following individuals were each awarded the \$20,000 scholarship for FY 2016.

Name	Award Year(s)	Medical School
Rachel Anderson	2016, 2015, 2014	Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Brittany Chandler	2016, 2015	Mercer University School of Medicine
	2016, 2015, 2014,	
Elizabeth Garcia-Cardenas	2013	Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
	2016, 2015, 2014,	
Lynda Green	2013	Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine- GA campus
Christopher Kiker	2016, 2015, 2014	Mercer University School of Medicine
Kyla Elise Mohler	2016, 2015	Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
	2016, 2015, 2014,	
Katie Morgan	2013	Morehouse School of Medicine
	2016, 2015, 2014,	
Matthew Pearce	2013	Mercer University School of Medicine
Jontu Solomon	2016, 2015, 2014	Morehouse School of Medicine
	2016, 2015, 2014,	
Kaitlyn Vann	2013	Lincoln Memorial University- Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years but relinquished the award for this year, even though they are still enrolled in medical school.

Name	Medical School	Award Year(s)
Joseph Johnson	Lincoln Memorial University- Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine	2015, 2014
Suzanne Ozturk	Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University	2015

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years and are still training in a graduate medical education program.

Name	Award Year(s)	Specialty
Shenique Anderson, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013	Family Medicine
Leila Borders, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Internal Medicine
Tameka Byrd, D.O.	2006, 2009, 2010, 2011	Family Medicine
Loretta Duggan, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Family Medicine
Itoro Edet, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Pediatrics
Daphne Esho, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Pediatrics
Evan Fountain, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013, 2012	Internal Medicine
Samuel Franklin, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Internal Medicine
Timothy Fuller, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	General Surgery
Daniel Gordon, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine
Megan Harris, D.O.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Internal Medicine
Jacob Holley, III, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	General Surgery
Mary Keith, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine
Ashlee LaFontaine, M.D.	2010	Pediatrics
Justin Law, M.D.	2015, 2014	Family Medicine
Brittany Martin, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Family Medicine
Justin Peterson, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	OB/GYN
Joy Rankin, M.D.	2001	Family Medicine
Joi Rogers, M.D.	2009	Pediatrics
Jasmine Shell, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	General Surgery
Ryan Shingler, D.O.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Family Medicine
Thomas Smith, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013	Family Medicine
Rebecca Staub, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Pediatrics
Earl Stewart, Jr., M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010	Internal Medicine
Amethyst Wilder, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years and are now practicing in a rural area as part of their contract obligation.

Name	Award Year(s)	County	Specialty
Lauren Clemmons, D.O.	2009, 2008	Mitchell	Family Medicine
Raina Ferenchick, M.D.	2009, 2008, 2007, 2006	Grady	OB/GYN
Patricia Hall, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Upson	Family Medicine
Matthew Jenkins, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Elbert	Family Medicine
Holly Mahoney, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	McDuffie	Family Medicine
Sidney Morgan, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Screven	Family/Internal Medicine
Shanda Newsome, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Lee	Family Medicine
Daryl Remick, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Monroe	Family Medicine
Abhinav Saxena, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Tift*	Psychiatry
Daniel Singleton, M.D.	2010, 2009, 2008, 2007	Marion	Family Medicine
Christopher Taranto, D.O.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Sumter	Emergency Medicine
Aaron Thomas, Jr., M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Banks	Internal Medicine
Tiffany Thomas, M.D.	2010, 2009, 2008, 2007	Carroll*	OB/GYN
Mary Wiles, D.O.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Union	Internal Medicine
Laura Williams, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010	Franklin, Stephens	Emergency Medicine
Lawrence Wilson, M.D.	2009, 2008, 2007, 2006	Bibb, Houston*	OB/GYN

\* While these counties are not considered rural, these Board-approved practice locations are considered underserved due to the specialty.



## Georgia Board for Physician Workforce

## Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Feel free to reach out!

2 Peachtree Street, NW 36th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303 (404) 232-7972 <u>http://gbpw.georgia.gov/</u> <u>GBPW@dch.ga.gov</u>