

Georgia Board for Physician Workforce

AWARD REPORT FOR SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS

Fiscal Year 2017

(This page intentionally left blank.)

Table of Contents



Introduction	4
Scholarship recipients (Med. school)	5
Scholarship recipients (GME)	6
Scholarship recipients (Practice)	7
Contact Information	9

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce strives to identify and meet the physician workforce needs of Georgia communities through the support and development of medical education programs. Members of the General Assembly, the state's medical community and the general public:

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce (GBPW) members and staff are pleased to present the Award Report for Scholarship Programs for the Fiscal Year 2017.

In total, the Board awarded **\$120,000** to six recipients. However, there are 53 former scholarship recipients that are still under the program– two former recipients are still matriculating in medical schools, 27 former recipients are still training in graduate medical education programs and 18 former recipients are now practicing in a rural county to fulfill their contractual obligations. Not included in these numbers is any former recipient currently in the repayment or default process.

The administrative costs to carry out these loan repayment programs is paid for with funds provided in the Georgia Board for Physician Workforce: Board Administration program of the Georgia Department of Community Health section of the state budget, while the awards were funded through the Georgia Board for Physician Workforce: Physicians for Rural Areas program of DCH. Please note the GBPW is currently phasing out the Scholarship Program and instead rolling leftover funds into the PRAA; all current recipients should complete the Scholarship Program and its service obligations around FY 2027.

Would you or someone you know want to know more about the Board and the important work we do to better the health care needs of rural Georgia? Then, please visit us online at <u>http://gbpw.georgia.gov</u>. The website is an invaluable resource for both health care professionals and interested consumers.

a Bhan Hugles

LaSharn Hughes, MBA Executive Director



Hughes and Gov. Nathan Deal

The Georgia Board for Physician Workforce Scholarship is an annual award for Georgia students who have been accepted in an accredited four-year medical school in the U.S. leading to a Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy degree. This scholarship is designed to furnish \$20,000 in financial aid to deserving medical students who cannot afford the cost of medical school while also bringing needed medical attention to small rural communities in Georgia. Upon graduation from medical school and a residency program, recipients must be licensed to practice in Georgia and must contract to practice medicine in a community of 35,000 or less for one year after completing graduate medical education for each year of scholarship funding received. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years for a maximum of \$80,000. The following individuals were each awarded the \$20,000 scholarship for FY 2017.

Name	Award Years	Medical School	
Rachel Anderson	2017, 2016, 2015, 2014	Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine	
Brittany Chandler	2017, 2016, 2015	Mercer University School of Medicine	
		Lincoln Memorial University- Debusk College of Osteopathic	
Joseph Johnson	2017, 2015, 2014	Medicine	
Christopher Kiker	2017, 2016, 2015, 2014	Mercer University School of Medicine	
Kyla Elise Mohler	2017, 2016, 2015	Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University	
Jontu Solomon	2017, 2016, 2015, 2014	Morehouse School of Medicine	

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years but relinquished the award for this year, even though they are still enrolled in the medical school phase of the Scholarship program.

Name	Award Years	Medical School	
Suzanne Ozturk Abbasi	2015	Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University	
Lynda Green	2016, 2015, 2014, 2013	Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine- GA campus	

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years and are still training in a graduate medical education program.

			Post Grad
Name	Award Years	Specialty	Year Status
Shenique Anderson, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013	Family Medicine	PGY-2
Leila Borders, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Internal Medicine	PGY-3
Tameka Byrd, D.O.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2006	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Loretta Duggan, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Family Medicine	Fellowship
Itoro Edet, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Pediatrics	PGY-4
Daphne Esho, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Pediatrics	PGY-4
Evan Fountain, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013, 2012	Internal Medicine	PGY-2
Samuel Franklin, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Internal Medicine	PGY-3
Timothy Fuller, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	General Surgery	PGY-4
Elizabeth Garcia-Cardenas, M.D.	2016, 2015, 2014, 2013	OB/GYN	PGY-1
Daniel Gordon, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Jacob Holley, III, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	General Surgery	PGY-4
Mary Keith, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Ashlee LaFontaine, M.D.	2010	Pediatrics	Fellowship
Justin Law, M.D.	2015, 2014	Family Medicine	PGY-2
Holly Mahoney, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Brittany Martin, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Katie Morgan, M.D.	2016, 2015, 2014, 2013	Pediatrics	PGY-1
Matthew Pearce, M.D.	2016, 2015, 2014, 2013	Pediatrics	PGY-1
Justin Peterson, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	OB/GYN	PGY-3
Joy Rankin, M.D.	2001	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Jasmine Shell, M.D.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	General Surgery	PGY-4
Ryan Shingler, D.O.	2014, 2013, 2012, 2011	Family Medicine	PGY-3
Thomas Smith, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013	Family Medicine	PGY-2
Rebecca Staub, M.D.	2014, 2013, 2012	Pediatrics	PGY-3
Kaitlyn Vann, D.O.	2016, 2015, 2014, 2013	Family Medicine	PGY-1
Amethyst Wilder, M.D.	2015, 2014, 2013, 2012	Family Medicine	PGY-2

The following individuals were awarded the scholarship in previous fiscal years, have completed a graduate medical education program and are now practicing in a rural area as part of their contract obligation.

			1
Name	Award Years	County	Specialty
Lauren Clemmons, D.O.	2009, 2008	Mitchell	Family Medicine
Raina Ferenchick, M.D.	2009, 2008, 2007, 2006	Grady	OB/GYN
Patricia Hall, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Upson	Family Medicine
Megan Harris, D.O.	2013, 2012, 2011, 2010	Sumter	Internal Medicine
Matthew Jenkins, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Elbert	Family Medicine
			Family Medicine,
Sidney Morgan, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Screven	Internal Medicine
Shanda Newsome, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Lee	Family Medicine
Daryl Remick, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Monroe	Family Medicine
Joi Rogers, M.D.	2009	Coffee*	Pediatrics
Abhinav Saxena, M.D.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Tift*	Psychiatry
Daniel Singleton, M.D.	2010, 2009, 2008, 2007	Marion	Family Medicine
Earl Stewart, Jr., M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010	Upson	Internal Medicine
Christopher Taranto, D.O.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Sumter	Emergency Medicine
Aaron Thomas, Jr., M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010, 2009	Banks	Internal Medicine
Tiffany Thomas, M.D.	2010, 2009, 2008, 2007	Carroll*	OB/GYN
Mary Wiles, D.O.	2011, 2010, 2009, 2008	Union	Internal Medicine
Laura Williams, M.D.	2012, 2011, 2010	Franklin, Stephens	Emergency Medicine
Lawrence Wilson, M.D.	2009, 2008, 2007, 2006	Upson	OB/GYN

* While these counties are not considered rural, these Board-approved practice locations are considered underserved due to the specialty.

In 2017, there were 18 former recipients of the GBPW's Scholarship program fulfilling practice obligations which provided 16 rural Georgia counties with much-needed access to care.





Georgia Board for Physician Workforce

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Feel free to reach out!

2 Peachtree Street, NW 36th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303 (404) 232-7972 <u>http://gbpw.georgia.gov/</u> <u>GBPW@dch.ga.gov</u>