Summary of the GEORGIA BOARD OF HEALTH CARE WORKFORCE MEETING Virtual 10/19/2023 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Board Members Present

Chairman – James Barber, MD Vice Chairman – William Kemp Secretary/Treasurer – Lily Henson, MD Terri McFadden, MD Garrett Bennett, MD Carolyn Clevenger, DNP Steven Gautney, MSHA Michael Groover, DMD William Fricks, MD Amy Reeves, PA-C James Smith Jr, MD Joseph Walker, MD Kitty Carter-Walker, MD

Board Members Absent

Scott Bohlke, MD Indran Indrakrishnan, MD

Staff Present

Chet Bhasin – Executive Director Cherri Tucker – Consultant Anita Dunbar – Office Coordinator Yvette Speight – Legal Secretary Leanna Greenwood – Data Team Manager Augustine Agbontaen – Data Analyst Kimberly Rogers – Finance and Data Admin Assistant Alexandria Moses – Communications Coordinator

Consultant to the Board

Al Dever, MD, Ph.D., Faculty WellStar Kennestone Family Medicine

Attorney General Representative

Jocelyn Curry, JD

Program Guests Present

Marilane Bond, MD – Associate Dean of Medical Education, Emory University Jean Sumner, MD- Dean, Mercer University School of Medicine Betsy Bates - Lobbyist, Morehouse School of Medicine, Bates Associates, Morehouse School of Medicine, and GA Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics Hugh Sosabee – JD, Vice President for External Relations, Mercer University Scott Raines, CEO, SE GA Health System Christy Jordan, General Counsel, SE GA Health System Vanna Delorenzo, GME Coordinator, SE GA Health System Martha Elks, MD, Morehouse School of Medicine Merrilee Gober, RN, BSN, JD, Medical Association of Georgia John Bucholtz, DO, Program Direction of Piedmont Columbus Regional Family Residency Becca Hallum, Associate General Counsel, Georgia Hospital Association Brenda Reynolds, Patient Care Director/Institution Coordinator, Coffee Regional Medical Center Vicki Lewis, MS, FACHE President & Chief Executive Officer, Coffee Regional Medical Center Shelly Nuss, MD, Campus Dean/DIO Medical Partnership, MEAC Chair David Hess, MCG/A, Dean Robert Lloyd, DO, Interim Dean, PCOM-South GA Campus Natasha Savage, MCG/AU Chadburn Ray, MD, MCG Associate Dean of Primary Care and Community Engagement Jason Griggs, Morehouse School of Medicine, Graduate Medical Education Director Nicole Russell, Undisclosed Organization Affiliation Jagdeep Singh, MD, St. Francis Emory Healthcare, Columbus Cindy Ormsdorf, Memorial Health University Medical Center Margie Miller, Vice President of Government Relations, Augusta University

On Motion, October 19, 2023, Agenda (Dr. Smith/Mr. Kemp) offered 1st and 2nd motion to approve the agenda.

On **Motion (Dr. Smith/Mr. Kemp)** offered 1st and 2nd motion for the **July 20, 2023**, board meeting minutes were approved as written.

On Motion (GBHCW General Consent, Does not require second motion), August 31, 2023, board meeting minutes were approved as written. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. McFadden/Dr. Smith)** offered 1st and 2nd motions for Physician Education Loan Repayment Rule Acceptance. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. Smith/Dr. Henson)** offered 1st and 2nd motion to publish the 2023 GME Exit Survey Report. The vote on the motion is unanimously approved.

On **Motion (Dr. McFadden/Mr. Kemp)** offered 1st and 2nd motions to deny the Petition for Variance or Waiver of Rule by Dr. Nelms. By general consent the motion is denied.

On **Motion**, the Board voted to adjourn. The Board voted unanimously to adjourn.