
 

                                    
 
 
 
 

Tort reform continues to be a highly debated issue at both the state and national level. In March 2010, the 
Georgia Supreme Court ruled the state’s $350,000 cap on non-economic damages was unconstitutional in 
medical liability cases.  The cap on non-economic damages was just one component of a comprehensive tort 
reform package that was passed and took effect July 1, 2005. The long-term impact of Georgia’s Supreme 
Court ruling is unknown.   
 
For informational and comparative purposes, there is value in looking at what is happening at the national level 
and in surrounding states. There are states which have taken effective steps to improve the medical 
marketplace environment (e.g., California). The variations between Georgia and the surrounding states illustrate 
the complexity of the issue.     
 
Note: Physicians in Georgia and the surrounding states are not required to have medical liability insurance as a 
condition of licensure. Two states, Florida and South Carolina, have State Patient Compensation Funds, which 
provide additional coverage for participating physicians.  Participation is optional. 
 
This fact sheet examines the following questions:  
1. Are there national models of tort reform that have proven to be effective?   
2. What reforms have been enacted in Georgia and the surrounding states? 
 
1.  Are there national models of tort reform that have proven to be effective? 

 
The most widely recognized model for tort reform is the California Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act of 
1975, which is described in the box below. 

 
California Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act (MICRA) 

 
The MICRA has been deemed effective because it includes provisions to:   

• Secure the ability of injured patients to receive quick, unlimited compensation for their economic 
losses 

• Ensure that recoveries for non-economic damages do not exceed a reasonable amount (e.g., 
$250,000) 

• Reserve punitive damages for cases in which they are truly justified 
• Provide for periodic payment of judgments over time  
• Ensure that old cases cannot be brought years after an event occurs (statute of limitations)  
• Reduce the amount that doctors must pay if a plaintiff has received other payments from an 

insurer to compensate for their losses (collateral source rules) 
• Provide that defendants must pay judgments only in proportion to their degree of fault (joint 

and several liability reform) 
 
At the national level, the Department of Health and Human Services’ (HHS) Agency for Healthcare Research 
and Quality (AHRQ) has undertaken an initiative to address patient safety and medical liability.  Approximately 
$25 million in federal funding has been allocated to help states and health care systems develop detailed plans 
and test models to improve patient safety and promote medical liability reform.  Efforts at the national level are 
being led by the Patient Safety and Medical Liability Reform National Advisory Council.  
 
New York State will receive funding totaling $2.9 million for a three year pilot program/demonstration project 
based on a model developed by a Bronx Supreme Court judge.  Additionally, 13 planning grants totaling $3.5 
million have been awarded as of June 2010.  The HHS initiative should provide useful information and 
experience to aid other states in enhancing patient safety and improving the medical liability environment. 
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2.  What reforms have been enacted in Georgia and the surrounding states? 1, 2 
 
Statute of Limitations - The maximum number of years a claimant has to file a liability suit. 

   

Statute of Limitations
for GA and Surrounding States 
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Contributory or Comparative Negligence - Contributory negligence disallows any recovery by a plaintiff 
whose negligence contributed to causing the damages (even minimally). Comparative negligence reduces the 
amount of damages that a plaintiff can recover based upon the degree to which the plaintiff's own negligence 
contributed to the harm suffered. 
 

Contributory versus Comparative Negligence 
Laws in GA and Surrounding States 

North Carolina  
Alabama 

Pure doctrine of contributory negligence.  A claimant’s contributory negligence bars 
recover completely. 

Florida Pure form of comparative negligence.  A claimant’s award is diminished in 
proportion to the claimant’s fault, but the claimant’s fault, no matter how great, will 
not act as a bar to recovery. 

South Carolina 
Tennessee 
Georgia 

Modified doctrine of comparative negligence.  In South Carolina, a plaintiff may 
recover damages if his negligence is less than or equal to that of all the 
defendants. In Tennessee, a plaintiff may recover only if his negligence is less than 
the defendant’s.  In Georgia, for claims after 2/15/05, a plaintiff cannot recover 
damages if he is more than 50% responsible.  In all three of these states, the 
plaintiff’s damages are reduced in proportion to his percentage of fault. 

 
___________________________________ 

Joint and Several Liability - Under joint liability, each party is responsible for up to the full amount. With 
several liability, defendants are only liable for their respective share. Under joint and several liability, a plaintiff 
may recover all the damages from any of the defendants regardless of their individual share of liability. 

Joint Liability, Several Liability, & Joint and Several Liability 
Laws in GA and Surrounding States 

Tennesee 
Florida 
Georgia 

Tennessee, Florida, and Georgia adhere to several liability.  Each defendant is liable 
only for the percentage of the plaintiff’s damages caused by the defendant’s 
negligence.  In Georgia and Florida, the fault of non-defendant’s must also be 
considered in making the determination of a defendant’s percentage of fault. In 
Florida, there is one important exception.  A defendant whose liability exceeds that 
of the claimant is jointly and severally liable for the claimant’s economic damages. 

North Carolina 
South Carolina 
Alabama 

The states of North Carolina, South Carolina, and Alabama impose joint and several 
liability.  Any defendant is liable to the claimant for the entire amount of judgment, 
regardless of the defendant’s share of fault. 

 

The statute of limitations for Georgia 
and the surrounding states ranges from 
one year to three years as shown in 
the graph. Tennessee and North 
Carolina have a limit of one year. 
Georgia, Florida, and Alabama adhere 
to two years. South Carolina has the 
longest time period at three years. 

___________________________________



 
 

Vicarious Liability – In medical malpractice cases, vicarious liability refers to whether a hospital or hospital 
system can be held liable for the actions or inactions of a physician who is not directly employed by the hospital.  
Liability is dependent on the limits of their association. Typically, when an employee causes a loss to a patient in 
the normal course of his/her duty, then the employer will be responsible for such loss. 
 

Vicarious Liability of Hospitals 
Laws in GA and Surrounding States 

 Imposed Not 
Imposed 

Not 
Addressed

Florida X   

South 
Carolina X   

Georgia  X   

North 
Carolina  X  

Alabama  X  

Tennessee   X 
 

___________________________________ 

Expert Affidavits and Testimony – Some states require that an affidavit from an expert, also referred to as a 
Certificate of Merit, be submitted when filing a malpractice claim (25 states require Certificate of Merit in medical 
liability cases). 3   Expert testimony refers to the sworn statements of a person who by virtue of education, 
training, skill or experience is believed to have expertise and specialized knowledge about a subject beyond that 
of the average person.   

Expert Affidavits and Testimony 
Requirements in GA and Surrounding States 

 Affidavit 
Required with 

Complaint 

Expert 
Testimony 
Required 

Georgia X    

Alabama  X  

South Carolina   X 

North Carolina X  X  

Florida X  X 

Tennessee X*  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

___________________________________ 
 
 

• Florida statute holds hospitals liable for actions 
of physicians who are not directly employed by 
the hospital.  In South Carolina, a hospital can 
be held liable if the hospital consciously implied 
that the doctor was its agent and the plaintiff 
relied upon that representation.  
  

• Georgia statute stipulates a hospital will not be 
held liable if the hospital posts a notice in 
prescribed form or obtains an acknowledgment 
from the patient that some of the healthcare 
professionals are independent contractors. 

 
• North Carolina and Alabama do not impose 

vicarious liability on hospitals. In Tennessee, 
no court case has addressed the issue. 

• In Georgia, an expert affidavit must be included 
when filing a medical malpractice complaint.  
Expert testimony during the court proceedings 
is recommended, but optional. 

• Alabama requires the plaintiff to prove 
negligence through the use of expert testimony, 
unless only common knowledge or experience 
is needed to understand allegations against the 
doctor.  

• South Carolina requires the introduction of 
expert testimony in medical malpractice actions 
to prove that the defendant failed to conform to 
the applicable standard of care.  

• In North Carolina, the complaint must indicate that a qualified healthcare provider is willing to testify that the 
medical care did not meet the applicable standard of care. Medical malpractice claimants must prove a 
breach of the standard of care by expert testimony, unless the negligence is obvious to a layman.  

• Florida requires a claimant to include a verified written medical expert opinion to support that there are 
reasonable grounds to believe each named defendant was negligent.  Unless the alleged negligence is 
obvious to a layman, expert testimony is necessary to establish a claim for medical malpractice. 

• Tennessee has a Certificate of Good Faith requirement. Plaintiffs must consult with an expert witness within 
90 days after the complaint.  A written statement should be obtained by the plaintiff saying that the expert 
believes in good faith that the action has merit. At the present time, Tennessee law does not require the 
plaintiff to provide the court with the Certificate. 



 
 
Damage Caps – Limits on the amount a plaintiff is able to receive for non-economic damages. Examples of 
non-economic damages include, but are not limited to: physical and emotional pain, inconvenience, physical 
impairment, mental anguish, loss of enjoyment of life, injury to reputation, etc.  In 2006, there were 26 states 
that had some type of cap on non-economic damages or total damages.3 

 

• North Carolina – No cap on non-economic damages.   
• Florida – Florida’s voluntary arbitration program provides a cap on non-economic damages under 

certain circumstances. 
• South Carolina – Does not impose a cap on the amount of damages that a claimant can recover 
• Tennessee – No cap on the amount of damages recoverable in a medical malpractice action 
• Georgia – Caps on non-economic damages of $350,000 per defendant were enacted in 2005, but the 

Georgia Supreme Court ruled the caps to be unconstitutional in March 2010.  
• Alabama – Caps on non-economic damages were enacted in 1987, but were held to be unconstitutional 

by the Alabama Supreme Court in 1991.   
 

___________________________________ 

Statutory Cap on Attorneys’ Fees – This term refers to limitations placed on an attorney's contingency fee in a 
medical malpractice case. There are cases under which an attorney may petition the court for additional 
compensation (e.g., extra services that required more than the customary time and effort).  There are 16 states 
with laws that limit attorney fees. 3   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Statutory Cap on Attorney’s Fees 
GA and Surrounding States 

 Yes No 
Florida X  

Tennessee X  

Georgia  X 

Alabama  X 

South Carolina  X 

North Carolina  X 
 

___________________________________ 
 
Collateral Source Rule – States that adhere to the collateral source rule prohibit the introduction of evidence 
that a plaintiff’s damages were or will be compensated by a third party (e.g., medical bills paid by the plaintiff’s 
insurance company).  There are 11 states that have laws limiting the collateral source rule. 3 

   
• North Carolina and South Carolina – Both states adhere to the collateral source rule.  Payments from 

third parties are not admissible as a means of reducing the plaintiff’s damages.   
• Georgia – Currently adheres to the collateral source rule.  Although the statute allows tort defendants to 

introduce evidence of third party payments, the courts have held the statute to be unconstitutional. 
• Alabama – Does not adhere to the collateral source rule.  The Medical Liability Act of 1987 partially 

abolished the collateral source rule in medical malpractice cases by allowing the introduction of 
evidence that the claimant’s medical or hospital expenses had been or would be paid.   

• Tennessee – Does not adhere to the collateral source rule.  Economic losses suffered by a medical 
malpractice claimant are recoverable only to the extent that such costs are paid or payable out of the 
claimant’s family assets or insurance benefits for which the claimant or family paid. 

• Florida – Does not adhere to the collateral source rule.  Florida law requires the court to reduce a 
plaintiff’s damages by the amounts paid to the plaintiff from collateral sources.   

 
 
 
 

• The Florida Supreme Court has identified 
thresholds and criteria under which attorney 
fees are deemed excessive or unreasonable.   

• In Tennessee, the compensation of the 
plaintiff’s attorney may not exceed 33.3% of all 
damages awarded. 

• Attorney fees are not capped in Georgia, 
Alabama, South Carolina, or North Carolina. 

 



 
Periodic Payments – A structured settlement whereby payments are made to an injured person or survivor for 
a specified number of years or for life. Structured settlements are often created through the purchase of one or 
more annuities, which guarantee the future payments. There are 31 states that have a rule that addresses 
periodic interim payments. 3   

 
• North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee - Do not require the periodic payment of damage 

awards/malpractice judgments. 
• Georgia and Florida – Both mandate that the court must order periodic payments upon the request of 

any party.  Both states define a threshold for which periodic payments are an option.  
• Alabama – Now has three periodic payment statutes based on the type of case and circumstances.  

___________________________________ 
 
Arbitration - A legal technique for settling disputes outside the courts. A third party reviews the case and 
imposes a decision that is legally binding for both sides. 
 

Utilization of Arbitration 
GA and Surrounding States 

• Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, Florida, and South Carolina – In these states, arbitration is offered as 
an option, but is not required.  Arbitration must be agreed to by both the plaintiff and defendant.  
Alabama requires the agreement between the parties to be in writing.  Florida’s system of binding 
arbitration allows the defendants the option to limit non-economic damages in return for admitting 
liability.  In all five of these states, arbitration findings are final and legally binding.   

• North Carolina – In North Carolina, mediation is required. Mediation is another alternative dispute 
resolution technique.  The outcome of mediation is not legally binding.  The intent is to try to find 
middle ground between the parties before the matter goes to court.  Rules have been drawn up by the 
North Carolina Supreme Court and parties may select their own mediator. 

 
 
Additional Types of Reforms 3 
 
Pre-judgment Interest - prejudgment interest is interest awarded on a claim for some period of time before the 
judgment in a lawsuit is entered. 
 
Patient Compensation Funds and Physician Insurance - a medical malpractice insurance mechanism, 
created by state law, designed to increase professional liability coverage availability and/or affordability primarily 
by providing coverage for a specific type of injury or an excess layer of coverage. 
 
Screening Panels – pre-trial panels staffed by medical experts to review potential liability cases before they 
proceed to court (utilized by 20 states). 3 
 
Health Courts – compensation decisions are based on an “avoidability” standard rather than a negligence 
standard and compensation is determined by specially trained judges (rare – only done in Florida and Virginia). 3  
 
Full Disclosure / Early Offer Programs – primary focus is to disclose information to the patient about the 
occurrence of an error.  Often includes an apology and an offer of compensation (29 states have laws that 
prohibit the presentation of an apology in a state court following the occurrence of an unanticipated outcome).  
21 states have passed legislation that mandates reporting of some medical errors and adverse events. 3  
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1 Source: McCullough, Campbell & Lane, LLP.  Summary of Medical Malpractice Law for GA, NC, SC, FL, AL, and TN. 
2 Source: Wikipedia.com for definition of terms. 
3 Source: U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), “Review of Reforms to Our Medical Liability 
System” January 4, 2010. 


