GBPW expands definition of “rural” to 50,000 population

During its quarterly meeting on July 26, the Georgia Board for Physician Workforce voted to expand its definition of "rural" from a county with a population of 35,000 to 50,000, according to figures from the most recent U.S. Census.

Now, 10 more counties are eligible practice locations for recipients in the GBPW's loan repayment programs: Baldwin, Coffee, Colquitt, Habersham, Laurens, Murray, Polk, Thomas, Tift, and Ware.  This brings the total number of eligible counties to 119 out of Georgia’s 159 counties.

Related to: